Posted by: A Mom w/Fears | January 22, 2008

Reunions…

Ten Year Reunion – I managed to make the family picinic.   Didn’t see anyone I used to hang with…and was bored to tears, all I really remember of it was that the same stuck up people were there that I didn’t really care for in High School…and that the “true love of my life” (I was an idiot) was there with his wife and son…and it was hard to have a conversation with them because we didn’t have anything in common at all, so the small talk sucked. 

Twenty Year Reunion – Headed my way…OMG I am old.  Sigh.   Do I go?  Do I not go?   I’m too many pounds heavier now to count (actually I just don’t want to say), I kicked my career to the curb for SAHM duties (lol – what career?  I had a job, not a career…and I am overjoyed to finally get to stay home and raise BabyAm).   Which brings me to the fact that I don’t feel I have anything to ‘show off’ in that aspect or area of my life either, cuz after all isn’t that what you do at reunions…share your “look at what i’ve made of myself” stories?   

To be quite honest…most of the people that I really wanted to stay in contact with, I either did, or have gotten in contact with over the past couple years…why would I want to go?   My only reason really:  idk my bff Karen?   😀

Seriously…I need some help on the PRO side of going!   Anyone?  Anyone?  Buhler?

In searching through my class roster… so far I’ve seen:

  • several stay at home moms…alot with 4 and 5 kids (I can’t imagine…I would need to work!)
  • several people out of the country doing various things—some sound interesting…
  • one guy owns 4 business’s in town…(some software type firm, a bar, a pizza joint…and something else)
  • one guy is a pilot (I guess I could try and worm a flight to to somewhere with NO SNOW for Hubby and me)
  • one a chiropractor (I just wish I could find one who isn’t psyco, who doesn’t hurt me….oh, to be cracked!)
  • one girl is a model/actress/adult toy sales rep…(not sure what this all means)
  • several have died in drug related ways…(devistating!)
  • handful of people have found Jesus…(Amen!  Honestly!)
  • another handful of people are in prison or jail off and on…(drugs, dui’s, battery etc…Come on really now, isn’t it time to grow up?)
  • one gal that was in the class ahead of me, was a surrogate mom for her adult film star sister, and they all hang out with Hugh…and about 100 other stars…(I saw the pics!)

What makes people want to go to these things?  Is it the cliques…they all go together, so they don’t feel alone?   Should I be worried that we own our own small business with NO employees, and that we have the “just about standard” family…and that the 125 pound flirty girl is now (well let’s just say…not anymore) and that none of those people impress me so much that I want to jump up and down at the thought of going….but I wouldn’t change my awesome life for anything?   How do you express that at a Reunion?

Steph Graduation

I soooo do not look like this now.  Sigh. 

Guess I have a couple more months to dwell on this idea.   I’ll just continue to wonder why so many people who still live in the area (and who’s parents do too) are on the MISSING list…and why when someone is LOCATED that for some reason they don’t list anything about themselves…sad really.   There are a few of my old friends I’d love to check in on…but of course, I have no idea where they are, just that they are “located”…extremely helpful information if I do say so myself.

If you are reading this, please comment.   I love comments, and even though I get a couple hits a day (yes, only a couple)…I’d also love to know who you are!

Categories

