Posted by: A Mom w/Fears | January 25, 2008

“Mom, I didn’t know you could read!”

I have a book addiction.   My family says I need a support group.   Do they have such a thing for what I’m about to explain?

If you know me you’ll know that what I am about to tell you is true.   It’s sad, but true.   I love books.   I love to pick them up, look at them, read the back and get excited!   I really get excited when I find a book that I want to read.  SO.I.BUY.IT.    Lots of them!  If I go to a bookstore, several books leave with me.  If I go to a seminar, several books leave with me.  If I go to a 2nd hand store, yep…several leave with me!

The beautiful book(s) that I am so excited to buy end up staying in that brand new perfect UNREAD condition.   They usually make it to the bookshelf, where they sit…lonely, for (probably)…eternity.

A few years ago, BabyAm saw me reading a book and said, “Mom, I didn’t know you could read!”

Ultimate shock!

I can read, I do enjoy it, but I don’t ever do it.   I think if I found “Books on PC”, you know like books on tape…I might read them.   I read blogs.   I read articles.  I read things…but I guess when you don’t have your nose to a book, and your kid usually does…they assume you can’t read.

Last week I was invited to be in a book club.   I laughed.  Then I had to tell these ladies about my addiction.   When they finally caught their breath, they told me that I could still come!   And now the book club is for anyone who loves to read, and those who just love to read the covers too!

We’re reading (and I plan to start it tonight…) Desperate Pastors’ Wives (Secrets from LuLu’s Cafe) and I’m pretty excited.  I have until the 17th of February to read it.   I think I can!  I think I can!  I think I can!

Desperate Pastors’ Wives

If I don’t get it read, or in my case opened…they said I could come anyway, and find out all about it!   They don’t discriminate, thankfully!

Categories

