Posted by: A Mom w/Fears | February 6, 2008

Sound of Silence

Ok it’s 2:01 am.   Only 2 hours after we turned off the light to go to sleep…and I woke up (for the usual–to potty–what with me and all the water–I’m sure you understand) and after taking care of business I walked out into the living room as it seemed like there was a little more than usual “light”…and as I continued walking (carefully because I didn’t have my glasses on) I noticed this song, going through my head…I wonder why?

Hello darkness, my old friend, – Ok there is a litle light…and I wouldn’t necessarily call what I am seeing, my friend.
Ive come to talk with you again,
Because a vision softly creeping,
Left its seeds while Iwas sleeping, -you’ve got to be kidding me!!!
And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains Oh yea, that’s just what was left over from last week – that’s why it still remains, it’s still here!
Within the sound of silence.

In restless dreams I walked alone – I wish I didn’t have to face this alone tonight…ahhh, scary!
Narrow streets of cobblestone, cobblestone, no more like hardwood laminate…
neath the halo of a street lamp,
I turned my collar to the cold and damp – and put on Hubby’s seahawk beanie…to step outside.
When my eyes were stabbed by the flash of – please Lord, let it be a camera!
A neon light – or is it the 2.5 inches (almost 3) of snow that has fallen since I closed my eyes?
That split the night And touched the sound of silence. 

And in the naked light I saw – how could I not see it…it is everywhere, I can’t escape
Ten thousand people, maybe more. – not being able to drive in this garbage safely…
People talking without speaking,-those people are the people that live inside the police scanner, and it is loud (it’s in the bedroom–I’m in the living room), I can’t belive there are people out in this right now!!!
People hearing without listening, – BE CAREFUL driving in the snow!
People writing songs that voices never share
And no one deared Disturb the sound of silence.

Fools said i, you do not know
Silence like a cancer grows. – this cancer is snow, and I know it is cancer, because I still don’t have a fence!
Hear my words that I might teach you, 4 seasons is NOT all it’s cracked up to be!
Take my arms that I might reach you.  – arms, blog – WHATEVER, just listen…do not come here right now, it’s awful!
But my words like silent raindrops fell, -what I wouldn’t give for RAIN at this point!
And echoed – OH LORD PLEASE MAKE IT STOP!
In the wells of silence…it is silent, and beautiful, but 2.5 almost 3 inches in 2 hours…COME ON!

I guess I need to try and go back to sleep.  And dream of a White Christmas?  NO!  That’s not cool…maybe of a White KNIGHT…ha ha ha, get it White Night—–oh my, I am tired – that won’t work either, because I have both within 10 feet from me!    I’ll let you know what the Sound of Silence brings to me by morning.   *sigh*  Maybe a White Chocolate Mocha?  Doubt it!

Responses

  1. OMG mama!! What were you doingup so early?? Oh yah, you just said why, never mind ^_^

    You should wake me up when you get up. I like being with mama in the morning, and especially complaining about the snow with you!

    What’s funny, is that you made this sound almost creepy if not almost paranoid, and to make it about the SNOW – haha just started my day off. I guess not everything is as it seems is it?

    Anyways, what is that song?

    xoxo mama – love your baby


Categories

