Posted by: A Mom w/Fears | February 15, 2008

Pride and Pettiness/Free

Oh to be convicted.   Not such an exciting feeling.  Over the past several weeks, I’ve felt worn down, beat up and stepped on.   Felt is the key word.   I don’t believe anyone INTENTIONALLY tried to make me feel that way.   I’ve taken a lot of things very personally that were definitely not something I should have even worried about.   (Don’t get me wrong, I still get frustrated, I just need to try and turn the other cheek, if at all possible.)

I know that I need to sit back, relax and go with the flow…but that’s not always easy.  Time to listen to some Ginny Owens.  This song is called FREE. (Hear it here) – I love it, and I thought I would share some beautiful lyrics. 

Free – Ginny Owens
Turnin’ molehills into mountains
Makin’ big deals out of small ones
Bearing gifts as if they’re burdens
This is how it’s been
Afraid of coming out of my shell
Too many things I can’t do too well
Afraid I’ll try real hard
And I’ll fail
This is how it’s been
Till the day You pounded on my heart’s door
And You shouted joyfully
You’re not a slave anymore!

CHORUS:
You’re free to dance
Forget about your two left feet
And you’re free to sing
Even joyful noise is music to Me
You’re free to love
‘Cause I’ve given you My love
And it’s made you free
I have set you free!

My mind finds hard to believe
That You became humanity and
Changed the course of history
Because You loved us so
And my heart cannot understand
How You accept me as I am
But You say You’ve always had a plan
And that’s all I need to know
So when I am consumed
With what the world will say
Then You’re singing to me, as You remove
my chains

Free from worry
Free from envy and denial
Free to live, free to give, free to smile

I think it’s time to shower tonight, and get some sleep.  Another long weekend to smile about and be thankful that we have a wonderful daughter, who is doing well enough in Debate, to be competing in the National Forensic League Qualifying Tournament.  

Ahhh, the power of freedom.  Remind me of that the next time I decide to go off about Debate.  🙂  I do it, because I WANT TO…do not let anything I say fool you…I do enjoy seeing all the students faces light up when food comes in…and I do it because it’s important to me that they are all blessed as much as I am, by what the future has in store for each of them.  

Romans 8:26-28 (The Message)
Meanwhile, the moment we get tired in the waiting, God’s Spirit is right alongside helping us along. If we don’t know how or what to pray, it doesn’t matter. He does our praying in and for us, making prayer out of our wordless sighs, our aching groans. He knows us far better than we know ourselves, knows our pregnant condition, and keeps us present before God. That’s why we can be so sure that every detail in our lives of love for God is worked into something good.

Responses

  1. I know EXACTLY what you mean! We have had a rough few weeks too, but just this morning I was thinking how much older and WISER I am becoming in going through all of this. And that made me feel the teeniest bit better. 🙂

    Have a great day!

    P.S. The link to the song doesn’t work! 😦

  2. Tough huh, realizing that we’re still learning, even though we’re MOM’s ourselves now, and by all rights should KNOW everything!

    I fixed the link! Now you can listen! 🙂


Categories

