Posted by: A Mom w/Fears | March 31, 2008

One Night with the King

I keep meaning to blog about this movie, and just don’t get it done.   Just after about 8 weeks of Bible Study (my first Bible Study ever) on the Book of Esther, we all got together and watched One Night with the King, which is based on the book Hadassah, One Night with the King (and of course the Story of Esther from the Bible).   I don’t normally like the “old/ancient” setting type movies, but I absolutely LOVED this movie.   What a sweet love story with such intense issues thrown into the mix.  (I am not a movie critic and I don’t play one on TV, so pardon my layman review of the movie.)

The movie is already out on DVD,
but you can see the trailer for it here.

One Night

I have recommended this movie more times than I even realized.  One of my friends just emailed me last night and said that she got the movie from NetFlix and that she, her husband, daughter and Mother-In-Law all LOVED it as well.  She and her daughter even watched it a 2nd time (and cried!)  I’m so happy they enjoyed it.   It just is so good.

We all noticed though after reading the Book of Esther in the Bible and doing our Bible Study, that the movie added a lot of the “fun” type details, that just really give you an open imagination thinking to yourself “yea, I guess that could have been what it was like”…and I read that it was filmed in India, which tells me why everything was so extremly beautiful.

I wish I knew how to make stars, I would give it 4.5 Stars, out of 5.   Only because nothing is perfect.

Rent it! And then come back and tell me what you thought!  I am going to have to get it so that MY family can watch it too, and I can see it a 2nd time.

Categories

