Posted by: A Mom w/Fears | April 19, 2008

Phenobarbital

I didn’t post about this yesterday, probably because it’s was a tough day for me as a Puppy Mom.   Humphrey Bogart had another seizure yesterday morning, just after 7am.   It seems they always come while he’s sleeping.   Poor guy.

We have been keeping track of when they come, and how long they last, and our Vet told us to make sure and call her when the next one happened.   I called them shortly after it happend.   We were so excited that he hadn’t had another one in several weeks…and then BAM!  This one came.   There is just nothing anyone can do, and it is just heart breaking. 

Our Vet told us it was time to start with medication.   Medication for the rest of his sweet little life.   Phenobarbital.   I suppose it’s a good thing, but it doesn’t make it any easier on my heart.   Twice a day, every 12 hours.  Sigh.   Additionally, it is not going to STOP the seizures, but it is supposed to help them come less frequently.  And she said it might make him groggy.   Hello!  These are our wild little Boston Terriers, they are not supposed to be groggy…they are supposed to be hyper!   I sure hope this doesn’t effect him like that…

He took his first dose last night very well.  I’m sure it helped that when Hubby picked up the medication yesterday afternoon that he also bought some Greenies Pill Pockets.   Genius idea really!  And of course, Tommy Lee got a treat too, a different kind, but still.  

Even though I don’t want to wake the Sleeping Beauties, I’d better do it…so Humphrey can have his medicine, once again.   Man this sucks, all around!   But I’m thankful we can at least do SOMETHING for him, even if it is medicine…it’s better than him needing surgery by many miles!

Categories

