Posted by: A Mom w/Fears | April 21, 2008

RIP Marlee’s Rant

Today is a sad day.  One of my blogger buddies decided this weekend that she was going to delete one of her blogs, Marlee’s Rant.   I was very sad to see it go.   I loved reading about her sweet family, and her hilarious take on life and marriage.  

All that said…I understand her reasonings completely.  She said she wasn’t blogging for herself anymore, she was blogging for her readers.   Profound statement if you ask me.   It’s funny how addicted I get to reading other blogs, and only wish I could write like they do.  To me, that makes me wonder how many others out there are blogging for themselves, or for their readers.  

My intent initially was to blog for myself.  And keeping everyone updated (family and friends who aren’t close) was just a bonus.   Sometimes though I just wish I could vent EXACTLY how I’m feeling, and type every single foul word that is coming into my head, and rant about all the things that just piss me off.   Not very Christian like, I know.   God already knows what I’m thinking, good and bad…so I don’t think I’m keeping it from him.   I think I’m sparing my readers (friends and family) some of the bad.   I guess trying to keep it PG rated.   So is that really writing for me? 

BabyAm is trying so hard to figure out who she is.   Did any of us really know who we were at 16?  I don’t think so.   But I sure hope that I was trying as hard as she is.   We recently changed her blog from blogger to wordpress, which has been nice for her, because she can check her stats daily and see how many people have visited.   That is a nice reminder for her that she is a “role model” to some, so she needs to also keep that in perspective when posting.   HOWEVER, I also want her to know that people should like her for who she is, not for what they want her to be, or expect her to be…so she should be honest in what she writes.  Hubby and I wanted a place for her to share her thoughts about things, to get them off her chest.   To share all the things she’s going through, and her perspective on how that’s helping her to grow in every way.

Does that mean that I’m the hypocrite?   Telling her to do one thing (be honest) and then me doing the other (not venting when I want/need to)…I don’t know.  Please, don’t get me wrong, I am not saying that I want to to write about negative stuff all the time.  I’m just saying that I do have some days that suck, and wish I could just say what I feel.    I too, feel like I am that 16 year old teenager who is trying to figure out who she is, and if I should just “let go” sometimes instead of keeping it in.   I suppose I’ll continue to work that one out in my head…

Blogging is really something that makes you go hummm…what really is my purpose for blogging? 

Marlee, I know where to find you (and I’m not telling!), and you know where to find me (you poor poor dear).   Don’t be a stranger!   Remember it’s FOR YOU, not for us.  I’m not here to judge you, or anyone else.   Lord knows I have my own skeletons in the closet.   So….RIP Marlee’s Rant…I’ll always remember the fun we had moving the Virtual Body!   Which reminds me, I still have an award to pass on.    Thanks for the great memories!  I’ll catch you on the flip side, hopefully both of us will find our sanity in the blog-o-sphere!

Responses

  1. Hey! Thanks so much for the virtual funeral–you are so sweet–I even got choked up a little!! 🙂

    And don’t worry, I’ll still do some venting and plenty of complaining about dh on my other blog…just ’cause I want to keep a record of it so we can look back and laugh someday (I hope we’ll be laughing, anyway…)!!!! 😉

    Good luck to you and BabyAm in “figuring it all out”!!

    xoxo


Categories

