Posted by: A Mom w/Fears | July 18, 2008

RIP Shellfish

My dear friends and family, this post is dedicated to some of my favorite foods.  Shellfish.   I would like to share a little bit about the impact they made on my life.   For the sake of time, I’ll just share about one of my very favorite of these mollusks.   Clams.   Clams, steamed perfectly in water, some white wine, and butter.  Then seasoned just ever so slightly with a squeeze of lemon for good measure, that is how I will try to remember them.   They were a special treat.

 

 

Clams made me the happiest when we had them as a family, sitting around the table talking about how big they were, how plump they were and how fresh they were.   I do remember the good times that we shared at a little “hole in the wall” restaurant, known for their Clam Dinners.  But recently Hubby discovered we had a specialty fish market just downtown and could get about 4 times the amount of clams for the same price, so it’s been even more fun watching him prepare them for us at home, with love.

 

We all have been very close to Clams, well Shellfish in general…Crab, Lobster and Shrimp too…they are just such a luxury.   I am sure that the rest of the family will continue to enjoy their company when they can, but I will definitely not be able to taste their magnificent flavor again.

 

RIP my dear Shellfish passion.   I must bid you a very quick goodbye,  I can no longer appreciate the violent sickness you bring into my life.   After all the compliments I have given you, I am no longer given the same courtesy.   Wednesday night was the last straw, and I would prefer to keep the wicked porcelain god at bay as long as I possibly can.

 

You will be greatly missed.

Categories

