Posted by: A Mom w/Fears | July 24, 2008

Lying, Liars and Life (Getting Deep)

I’m really struggling with why people find it necessary to LIE, you know stretch the truth, exaggerate, or tell stories…whatever you want to call it, it’s still a LIE.  What possesses people to “have to be something” they are not?  To have to say they have more than they do?  To “one up” everyone around them?  

I am in NO way saying I have not done the same, however those lies never got me anywhere except trouble.   They did not bring respect, they did not bring in more friends, and they did not get me further up the food chain.   Several years back, I came to a point in my life where even the smallest of white lies (really, is there such a thing?) were impossible for me to tell.   I am still not as forward as I would like to be, but it’s slowing coming.  

It’s so hard to teach your children the importance of honesty, if you can’t illustrate it yourself.  Which brings me to my next question; how is it possible that there are parents out there that are still not teaching their children this?  Is it just not important enough to them?   Do they seriously not hear the garbage their kids are spewing?  Do they not care?   Do they figure that they will leave it up to their teachers, or better yet, someone else’s parents?   I don’t know about you, but I have my hands full with just one full-time kid…and a part-timer.   I do NOT have time to parent someone else’s child.

But I want to.  

Someone needs to, if it’s not their parents (or family) who is it going to be?   I think we have enough people in this world that have not been taught properly as children, so they go into adulthood with absolutely no clue.   Of course thinking they know it all…absurd isn’t it?   I’m still learning things daily (hourly to be completely honest—since this is what it’s all about) and I’ve been on my own for 20 years now. 

I shake my head in disbelief so often lately because I see it everywhere.   But right now, this issue is so close to home, it’s making me angry.   Angry that not only does it affect BabyAm, but it’s affecting Hubby and I, as well—in different ways. 

Hubby and I have both experienced LIARS, and we’ve both experienced a couple of the same exact LIARS, more than once in our lives.  The thing we notice the most about the ones that we’ve come in contact with, then and now is that they BELIEVE their own lies.   How can the real truth escape you…forever in some cases?   These people tell lies, even when the truth would sound better.   I don’t see the point, and I don’t think I ever will.  

“The truth will set you free”.   We say that a lot in our house, when it’s needed, and when we’re joking too.   Another thing we say is “God knows your lying (even if I don’t)”.   Are we out of our cotton pickin mind that lying is so NOT acceptable, in ANY case?   No, I don’t want anyone to tell me that I’m fat, even if it were the truth, but when I am faced with something like that, I remember the wise words of Thumper; “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say nothing at all”.   That is not lying.

I guess where I’m going with this rant, is that I really feel that our children are our future (yes that’s cliché) and I would really like to save the world (and our kids) from a reckless, hateful, untrustworthy , chauvinistic, racist, and prejudice future.   

This song just came to my mind, I figured I could link to it, but if you’ve read this far…I’d really like you to read these lyrics (even if you’ve read them/heard them before).   Really says a lot, about how I’m feeling about the way that some kids are being parented (or not parented is really the case).

Where is the Love – Black Eyed Peas


What’s wrong with the world, mama
People livin’ like they ain’t got no mamas
I think the whole world addicted to the drama
Only attracted to things that’ll bring you trauma
Overseas, yeah, we try to stop terrorism
But we still got terrorists here livin’
In the USA, the big CIA
The Bloods and The Crips and the KKK
But if you only have love for your own race
Then you only leave space to discriminate
And to discriminate only generates hate
And when you hate then you’re bound to get irate, yeah
Madness is what you demonstrate
And that’s exactly how anger works and operates
Man, you gotta have love just to set it straight
Take control of your mind and meditate
Let your soul gravitate to the love, y’all, y’allPeople killin’, people dyin’
Children hurt and you hear them cryin’
Can you practice what you preach
And would you turn the other cheek

Father, Father, Father help us
Send some guidance from above
‘Cause people got me, got me questionin’
Where is the love (Love)

Where is the love (The love)
Where is the love (The love)
Where is the love
The love, the love

It just ain’t the same, always unchanged
New days are strange, is the world insane
If love and peace is so strong
Why are there pieces of love that don’t belong
Nations droppin’ bombs
Chemical gasses fillin’ lungs of little ones
With ongoin’ sufferin’ as the youth die young
So ask yourself is the lovin’ really gone
So I could ask myself really what is goin’ wrong
In this world that we livin’ in people keep on givin’ in
Makin’ wrong decisions, only visions of them dividends
Not respectin’ each other, deny thy brother
A war is goin’ on but the reason’s undercover
The truth is kept secret, it’s swept under the rug
If you never know truth then you never know love
Where’s the love, y’all, come on (I don’t know)
Where’s the truth, y’all, come on (I don’t know)
Where’s the love, y’all

People killin’, people dyin’
Children hurt and you hear them cryin’
Can you practice what you preach
And would you turn the other cheek

Father, Father, Father help us
Send some guidance from above
‘Cause people got me, got me questionin’
Where is the love (Love)

Where is the love (The love)
Where is the love (The love)
Where is the love
The love, the love

I feel the weight of the world on my shoulder
As I’m gettin’ older, y’all, people gets colder
Most of us only care about money makin’
Selfishness got us followin’ our wrong direction
Wrong information always shown by the media
Negative images is the main criteria
Infecting the young minds faster than bacteria
Kids wanna act like what they see in the cinema
Yo’, whatever happened to the values of humanity
Whatever happened to the fairness in equality
Instead in spreading love we spreading animosity
Lack of understanding, leading lives away from unity
That’s the reason why sometimes I’m feelin’ under
That’s the reason why sometimes I’m feelin’ down
There’s no wonder why sometimes I’m feelin’ under
Gotta keep my faith alive till love is found

People killin’, people dyin’
Children hurt and you hear them cryin’
Can you practice what you preach
And would you turn the other cheek

Father, Father, Father help us
Send some guidance from above
‘Cause people got me, got me questionin’
Where is the love (Love)

Where is the love (The love)
Where is the love (The love)
Where is the love (The love)

Where is the love (The love)
Where is the love (The love)
Where is the love (The love)

 

Telling isn’t it?  I told BabyAm this afternoon, after a very tough conversation with one of these kids–who has a lot of truth that still needs to be told (especially to BabyAm), that I didn’t know if I had it in me to “Parent” one more kid.  Mind you, this kid has NEVER had anyone sit and have a conversation with him, let alone a tough conversation  like we had, while still trying to show him some respect and not beat him down.  

We (Hubby and I) know it’s not our job to parent him.   Really we do.   I just am broken hearted that he’s not getting what he needs and he’s going to be old enough to walk out the door and face the music without any knowledge of how to function properly.  

Shouldn’t we try to do something?

Responses

  1. *sigh* It’s everywhere. I hate it but try to use it as an opportunity to show love. Those kids really just need to see real, loving discipline from REAL adults.

    Hang in there. It will come back as a jewel in your crown some day.

  2. Geez! I thought you were talking about me…I really am pregnant! LOL Hey and why didn’t you vote boy or girl!?


Categories

