Posted by: A Mom w/Fears | July 27, 2008

The Mad-Hatter and Me

So, before I bust out in tears again, I need to share something very sweet that happened to me last night.   Freckles had a little headache and wasn’t feelin to hot (probably cuz he wasn’t ready to go home either, and he knew it was his last night here) so he took a couple aspirin.   About 30 minutes later, he mentioned it was still there.   I offered him a drink of my tea.  (It was a perfect and proper cup mind you…) 

I’d like to think of this post looking a little something like this…so you imagine it just like this too, will ya?  

“Mmmm, this is good” he said to me.  (How cool is that?)  So I told him he could finish it.  I like to share that way.  And because I love having something in common with him.   He is 12, and he is a boy, so sometimes that’s a little tough, since I’ve raised a girl all these years.

After he’d finished that (my) cup.  I asked him if he’d like another.   “Mmmm-humm” he said.   That’s 12 year old boy speak (I think) for ”yes please”.  

If you couldn’t guess, I ate that up! 

I made us both a cup.   His I returned to him, in one of (his) Great Grandma B’s Noritake Amarillo Bone China Tea Cup, and  saucer…with a shortbread biscuit.   How fun is that?????

 

 

Then this morning when I was helping him pack, I asked him if he wantd me to send him home with a couple tea bags, and the directions for a “Proper Cup”.   The reply I got….”Mmmm-humm”.  

Whoooopeeeeeeee!

That cute young man, not only got some tea bags, and the directions, but also the rest of my box of Shortbread too! 

How could I resist?  You’re right, I couldn’t!

Responses

  1. What a sweetie! It’s cool when we find commonalities with these crazy kids.

  2. Steph,

    So glad you are sharing the joy and comfort of Tea. Wow girl you have come along way in making a “proper” cup of tea. Love Ya! Have a great day, I’ll be thinking of you and your family today. Have a cuppa it fixes everything.

    Mrs. Potts

    P.S. I think its time we start considering getting you a Tea Pot

  3. Great! Addicting others….now you are his dealer 😛

  4. That’s so sweet. Love it when we can connect with the young ones.

  5. You are so awesome. 🙂

  6. What a lovely little moment.

    Now I am craving shortbread!


Categories

