Posted by: A Mom w/Fears | September 2, 2008

Back to Normal?

Schools back in, and things are supposed to be getting back to “normal” right?    What is normal?  Around here I don’t think that word is in our family vocabulary.  I like these definitions though:

nor•mal   [nawr-muh l]

–adjective

  1. conforming to the standard or the common type; usual; not abnormal; regular; natural.
  2. serving to establish a standard.
  3. Psychology.
    1. approximately average in any psychological trait, as intelligence, personality, or emotional adjustment.
    2. free from any mental disorder; sane.

Well, that settles it.   We are not “nawr-muhl” we are something else.  But what, I’m not sure!

BabyAm is back to school, still trying to do her best to deal with the drama that High School brings, and get settled into the routine of classes again.   I can tell you that she absolutely loves all her classes, but in between those classes and lunch-time are another story.   Hopefully the days will get easier to get through.   She really would like to find some new friends to hang with.  From what we hear some of her friends from last year have either gone off the deep end, or talk about her behind her back.   Neither are good. 

I’m doing a little volunteer work for a non-profit group, a PowerPoint Presentation, that is kind of a nice change for me.   Haven’t done much volunteering for awhile. 

Over Labor Day weekend, I finished two books, yes…I said TWO.   Hubby mentioned to me in passing that I never picked up a book in the past 9 years, and all of a sudden in the last 6 months, I’ve read 15 books.  (I’m not sure it’s been 15 but he does have a point.)  I’m waiting for the last one that I haven’t read, (by PJ Parrish) still to arrive from a gal on Ebay.   I hope it get’s here soon, or I’ll be forced to start something else.  It’s been a nice escape.

Hubby’s been workin like a dog, as usual and in his spare time–chasin money down.   Sign of the times.  Everyone seems to be slow payin and it’s just not fun.   Over the past couple months he’s gained a couple new clients and also dropped a few (freeloaders, for lack of a better word).   One of the nice things though is he’s finally takin some time for “HIM”…playin his game. 

Need a giggle, remember how I mentioned above about not being “nawr-muhl”, well we just saw a commercial, and BabyAm said “that’s you mama!”…so I thought I’d share it with y’all.   Enjoy!    We are NOT normal.  Just ask my mom.

Responses

  1. I don’t know which one you want to put me at.
    But I know I don’t go talking bad behind Am’s back. But I might be a little….paper crazy….

    Hope she finds new friends.

    If not I’m glad she’s got you! And I’ll try to stick around as long as she needs me!

    Lemme tell you something leaving for home at lunch works wonders on a stressful day, even just getting out of school.

    Have fun

  2. Not sure your MOM knows anything about being normal! Love ya MOM! hehe


Categories

