Posted by: A Mom w/Fears | November 30, 2008

I promised!

I promised several of you that I’d post what’s been going on around here lately…so I’ll start with preprations for Thanksgiving….

The night before, I made rolls (like my Grandma used to make) and I also made a dessert that is tradition, one Grandma also used to make for my Uncle and me.   Raspberry Fluff.   However, this time I made a Blackberry Fluff…which we all seemed to like very well.   My Uncle’s birthday is the 23rd of November, so usually my Grandma would make him his very own, and also one for us to all share.   He prefers Cherry, so that’s what he gets.   Since my Grandma passed away, it has been passed on to me.  I still always make two.   I was planning on taking pictures while making it, HOWEVER, I took the first one, and forgot to take any after that.   Here’s the ingredients.  (There is NOT ONE good-for-you ingredient in the whole recipe.)

fluff-ingr-small

Thursday – Thanksgiving Day!
We woke up Thanksgiving morning, picked up a little, and got ready.  Army Mom texted me this picture, she was so happy she got to talk to (briefly) and get this picture of her cute Boot Camp Beauty, she is on the left.  I was excited to get it too…I am having sympathy pains for Army Mom…is that possible?

boot-camp-gals

The it was time to head to my Uncle’s and Auntie G’s.  They bought a new house this summer and offered to have it at their house.  Who are any of us to say no.  They did such a great job, I nominated them to do Thanksgiving at their house every year.  And I will do Christmas, unless my mom (CJ) wants to sometimes.  Here’s “part” of dinner…it all wouldnt’ fit on the table YUM!

thanksgiving-dinner

That night BabyAm went to hang out with Belt Buckle, and Hubby and I got about a 2 hour nap.   We knew we were in for a long night.  You see it’s become a traditon for Hubby and I to leave in the middle of the night (for Black Friday) and drive around, looking at places like Best Buy with all the tents out, and the freezing people, then heading to breakfast before doing some un-necessary shopping!   We love it, it’s a special kind of date really.

Black Friday Morning – 12:30am
We headed out.   We started by returning some cheezy lawn ornaments back to Wal-M*art, and looked around a bit there.   Nothing exciting was happening there yet.   Then it was off to breakfast where we stuffed ourselves, drank strong coffee and looked through the ads.  We weren’t dying for anything, but we decided to start with JCP*nnys, they were having a great sale on towels.   Do you know that we have been using the same towels for 8 or 9 years?   Not all of them are that old, but some are…and they needed replaced.  They opened at 4am.  Here’s a couple pictures, just after they let us into the mall.  And just after I blogged from my phone.

early-morning

Yes, that is a BOLD…crackberry junkies I tell ya,
but that story is for another day!

shopping-friends
This is Hubby’s new shopping buddy!
Seriously though, he’s a trooper huh?

atm

Funny how that was RIGHT by where we were walking in!
I couldn’t help myself…taking the picture of it!
No, I didn’t pull out any money!

We got 8 bath towels, 8 hand towels, and 8 washcloths along with 2 nice rugs for the cold tile bathroom floor.   Super deals, and we didn’t even have to go with the cheapest towels either – they are nice!

And then…off to the Craft Store, they opened at 6pm.  Little did I know that they were open the night before for 3 hours and what I was waiting in line for, had ALMOST sold out.   There were two of them.  TWO.   We didn’t know that until they opened the door, asked each person in line (I was like 5th in) if they were there for one…and ONE guy (yeah, guy) was 2 people in front of me…he got the first Post-it Note with a #1 on it, and I…got the LAST Post-it Note with the #2 on it!!!!!!!!!

It is my early x-mas present from my Hubby, and does this kind of stuff…I am one jacked scrapbookin girl!!

snowflakes-small

And it did all that in less than about 5 to 10 minutes!   

I’m going to have to finish updating you tomorrow inbetween laundry, inside the house Christmas decorating (cuz the outside is done) and other miscellaneous cleaning.   I still have tons to say, so don’t go away! 

Responses

  1. I love how you just HAD to throw in the phone picture…BRAT!!
    Hahaha!
    You husband must REALLY adore you…getting up that early to SHOP and actually smiling in the freakin picture!!!!!
    Yes, hes a super duper cool guy! lol

    Ok-Im sending you ALLLLLLLLLLLLLLL my thousands of pictures so you can scrapbook them too- only cause you LOVE it so much. I wouldnt want you to ever run out of fun things to do!

    {{hugs}}

  2. Did you get a weird vibe this year on BF? I hated it! Usually this is one of my most favorite days of the year, not for the sales, but for the fun of the hunt and the people. This year just sucked with all the mean and grabby people!


Categories

