Posted by: A Mom w/Fears | January 28, 2011

The Answer

Soooo.  Don’t you hate it when you go to the Doctor and you receive the answer you needed…but you don’t “get” it.

Horrible Picture Quality...sorry!

Today, I got the answer I’ve needed for the past 2.5 years.  Am I allergic to Shellfish?  Just Crustaceans?   Just Mollusks?

I guess I’m one of the difficult ones because my tests came back negative for allergies to either.  But that doesn’t explain why I get so sick when I eat them.

Doc said that he sees someone like me about every other month, that has the same symptoms as I do, who indeed think they are also allergic.   But thankfully it’s only an Intolerance, not an Allergy (as defined).

He did recommend that I start slowly…and stay away from the Mollusks.   I know what happens when I eat them so I’m nervous to even try because speaking from experience, the after effects SUCK!  But I really want seafood.  I’ve only had it 3 times in the past 2.5 years…and I miss it!

Tough day.   Glad I’m not allergic, sad that it still doesn’t explain why I can’t tolerate something that I love so much.   If this was all in my head, why wouldn’t I be saying I was allergic to something like LIVER, or BRUSSEL SPROUTS?

I guess I’ll just hope and pray for the best.

Start small...is this small enough?

Forgo the Clams...really?  As I was searching for seafood pics, to post above…90% of the pictures had Clams in them…man, it’s like EVERYONE is trying to torture me today.

And be thankful that I won’t die if I eat them again.

Good news?   You be the judge.  *Sigh*

I’m not feeling so good…

Responses

  1. Nice to see you blogging. I actually posted the other day on my blog. Shock of shocks. Even have thoughts for another one or two. LOL

  2. God I love it when you blog.

    Start slow. Like baby shrimp on a salad?

    Call me this week!


Categories

