Posted by: A Mom w/Fears | November 4, 2009

How do you call a cow?

Does anyone know how to call a cow?  I guess what I mean is, actually get the cows attention and have it to come to you?  Please realize I will probably NEVER need this information again…but now my curiosity is piqued.

I can tell you that “come here cow…look what I have!” doesn’t work.   I can also tell you that “Do you want a treat?” didn’t work either.  

Now I am sure after hearing my attempts at cow calling…you’ll want to know WHY I was even attempting that?  If not, quit reading here. 

On my way to my Mom’s house on Monday morning, I decided to drive by a house that she mentioned she saw for sale.  I drove down the street, took a peek (from the car) at the house and drove down into the cul-de-sac to turn around.  It was at that moment that I saw this HUGE pretty red/brown cow walking down the street through yards; not bothering to look both ways when crossing the street…and then continuing down toward the main busy road.   (This is not the cow, nor the road, but it is fitting.)

Cow-in-Road

Sooooo, first things first! 

Call Non-Emergency Dispatch – Check!
Can’t stop laughing while talking to them – Check!
Drive slowly down the road behind the cow – Check!
Roll window down to laugh with neighbors watching – Check!
Pull over…
Get out of the car…Check!
Chase after the cow down the street yelling “Cow!  Look what I have!  Come here!!!”

Yep, that was me.  Did you need to close your eyes to imagine it?  *he he he*

She made her way down the busy street, holding up traffic and finally making her way into someone’s large front yard where I hope that the nice County Police found her owners.  I had called them again, just to give an updated location.  They said they’d had a bunch of calls since my first one. 

Any ideas on cow calling…you know, for next time?


Responses

  1. Cows is-a-gonna be cows. Sometimes they’ll come. Usually you train one of them to come, cause they tend to follow each other. The individual you encountered may not have been that cow. Plus, the cow doesn’t know you, and I assume you didn’t actually have any food to offer it. Try holding out a handfull of grass, or an apple if you’ve got one. Don’t yell at it to get its attention, that will probably just scare it. Try mooing instead (that always works for me, they think it’s another cow and turn to look).

  2. no ideas at all, that must have been an interesting sight though

  3. That is so funny. I’m glad it made it home safe!

  4. I got nothing in the way of advice but I enjoyed the story. I love those days when you have to ask yourself, “How is this my life.?” LOL

  5. Yell “I have Burger King!”?
    Or keep a cattle-prod for just such an occasion….

    On a complete tangent Thought you guys should know that MVHS closed out Varsity Policy LD and got first in Oratory and Novice PuFo. And I got $11 dollars a round for judging, easiest money I ever made!


Categories