Posted by: A Mom w/Fears | March 31, 2008

Book Club

I officially started my 3rd book for our Book Club tonight.   It’s the 2nd time I’ve started it.  This time, I truged through the first 3 pages (where I was struggling) and am able to keep reading.   The first couple pages seemed to have a bunch of words that I didn’t know, and I despise looking up words, so I just have to skip them and guess.    It seems to be getting better, I think she was just trying to be OVERLY descriptive.   So now that I stuck with it, finally, my curiousity is peaked.  It is a Christian Mystery/Suspense type novel.   What I know so far is, a woman wakes up in Hawaii, with no idea who she is, or how she got there.  (I’m thinking that might be nice though.)

It’s called Freefall, by Kristen Heitzmann.

Freefall

I never made it past the first chapter of the 2nd book (bottom of that post) called The Sisterhood of the Queen Mama’s.   I could not get past the fact that there were TWO women talking back and forth through the first chapter (no idea if it continued that way), and I struggled to understand which woman was in italics and which one was not.   Maybe I’ll be able to go back to it.  We’ll see.   The Book Club gals said only part of them actually finished the book, they had a tough time with it too.   I’m thankful I wasn’t the only one.  

The good news is though I did borrow the 2nd of the series (from Mrs. Potts) from our very first book  (Desperate Pastors Wives), the second being called A Matter of Wife & Death.   I read it in 2 days, just like the first one.   I really enjoy that type of read.   Easy I think is the operative word.

Wish me luck.   I still don’t feel like I am a reader.  I need to have it read by the 15th of April.


Responses

  1. Well, if you had to wake up somewhere and not remember anything I’d think Hawaii would be a nice place to be. I’d miss my hubby though. Er, well I wouldn’t remember him, but you get my point.

    Keep with the book. It might surprise you (skim where you need to).

  2. Yeah, I agree with you on that waking up in Hawaii thing…

    Good luck with the book! 🙂


Categories